Starting My Own Business: the Joys and Challenges

In my very first post, I wrote about how I came up with the name Verbaccino (rhymes with cappuccino) and what my business is all about. Today, I want to share a few of the joys and challenges of starting my own business.

I founded Verbaccino in May 2014, and it’s my first experience as a business owner. There’s definitely a learning curve involved, quite a steep one at the beginning, but I can honestly say that I’m enjoying the climb. Sometimes the process can seem a bit overwhelming. It helps if you can pace yourself, make a list of priorities, and tackle them one at a time. Every morning when I get up, I know I’m going to figure out new things that day. Things I didn’t know how to do before, things that will be useful to me in making Verbaccino a success. I find that tremendously motivating. I don’t think I’ve been this excited about learning since my university days, and, at the risk of dating myself, that was a while ago.

I also love the sense of ownership that comes with being sole proprietor of my business, and the freedom to decide how I want to run it and grow it. The future seems full of possibilities again, and it’s up to me to chart a course. Circumstances change, so I know I’ll have to adjust my course along the way. I may end up going in a different direction than I had originally planned. That’s OK. It’s all part of the adventure. Even if (or rather when) I make mistakes or experience setbacks, as long as I’m learning and staying true to my vision and my principles, I’m still moving forward. There’s nothing to lose and everything to gain.

As a parent, I appreciate the flexibility of working from home and making my own schedule. Not having to commute saves me precious time and energy that I’d much rather spend on other things. Whenever I find myself stuck in traffic, which can still happen when I’m running errands or driving to or from a meeting, I’m grateful that I don’t have to deal with rush hour congestion every working day. I’m even more grateful on particularly hot/cold/rainy/icy/snowy days.

There are many more joys and challenges of working from home. One of the greatest challenges, for me anyway, is time management. But that’s a topic for a whole other blog post!

Do you work from home too? What are some of your greatest joys and challenges? Have you developed any particular strategies? Please share them in the comments section below!

Cheers,

@KathrinBussmann, @Verbaccino

Verbaccino.com

Did you enjoy this post? Please share it using the social share buttons, below! You can also connect with Verbaccino on social media: LinkedInTwitterFacebookPinterestGoogle+, and Instagram.

For valuable tips on how to grow an international audience online, subscribe to Verbaccino’s monthly newsletter, The Worldly Marketer. It’s free!

One thought on “Starting My Own Business: the Joys and Challenges

Leave a Reply

