A New Podcast About International and Global Marketing Is Coming Your Way!

If you read my previous blog post to the very end, you know that Verbaccino is about to launch a new content channel: The Worldly Marketer Podcast. For anyone not familiar with podcasts, it’s audio-on-demand that you can stream or download to your digital devices – radio shows, essentially, except that you can listen to them whenever and where ever you want. Beginning in May 2016, one of those podcasts will be a weekly interview-format show featuring experts from the world of international and global marketing.

Blog - TWMPodcast Coming soon!
More and more people are waking up to the power of podcasts as a content-delivery channel. When done right, podcasts can create a very close connection between a host and his/her audience – arguably much closer than with other digital media. That’s because people tend to listen to podcasts via their mobile devices, with the sound of the host’s voice reaching them directly through their earbuds.

Another advantage of podcasts is that they don’t require you to stay glued to a screen. You can consume them even when you need to keep your hands and eyes free for other things: commuting, exercising, doing manual chores, taking a lunch break, going for a walk, etc.

So the listening experience can feel very personal, like being invited into a private conversation.

I’ve been a fan of podcasts for a long time, long before I started my own business. So when I founded Verbaccino in May 2014, I started listening to as many podcasts about entrepreneurship and marketing as I could. By now, I’ve got my favourites, and I’ve come to understand what it is about those podcasts that keeps me coming back for more.

Over the past year or so, I’ve also been busy pivoting my business. While I originally conceived Verbaccino as a kind of boutique language-services agency, I’m now much more focused on marketing strategies for international growth. My mission is to help North American brands leverage today’s new digital marketplace, which – like it or not – is becoming increasingly global, social and multilingual.

Because I’m a recovering academic, the first thing I do when I want to become an expert at something is throw myself into lots and lots of research. I figure out what the issues are, who the experts are, and I start reading everything I can get my hands on. Nowadays, I also look for relevant podcasts.

Unfortunately, in the case of international and global marketing, I’ve found the pickings to be still rather slim – though I did discover some excellent podcasts dealing with related topics, and I’ve recommended them in my previous blog post.

So full disclosure: my reasons for creating The Worldly Marketer Podcast are not entirely altruistic. Really, I’m scratching my own itch. It’s the podcast that I wished already existed, so I’ve decided to go ahead and create it myself. In doing so, I hope that it will become a helpful resource for anyone else who wants to learn more about what it takes for brands – even small ones – to “go global” in the Digital Age.

TWMPodcast - Libsyn Header

At the time of writing this, I’ve recorded nine interviews and counting – each one with a different expert guest, looking at a different angle of global marketing. Together, we’ve covered a range of issues, and I’ve received some valuable takeaways that I look forward to sharing with you.

So far, my guests and I have discussed everything from which foreign markets you should target first, to how much you should adapt your content for each different market, how to market your mobile app in China, how even small fashion brands can build a global following, the difference between translation, localization and transcreation, the importance of tracking the ROI of your global marketing efforts, and much more.

Each of my guests will be featured in a separate episode of the podcast. I can’t wait to share all these fascinating conversations with you!

But first, I have to finish editing all the episodes and writing up some show notes for each one. Yes, I’ll be releasing a whole batch of episodes right on launch day. After that, you can look forward to a new episode of The Worldly Marketer Podcast every week, and the show notes for each episode will be available via the Verbaccino website.

So stay tuned for the exact launch date! The best way is to join my mailing list, if you haven’t already.

And if you have particular questions around international and global marketing that you would like me to address on a future episode of the podcast, I would love to hear from you. You can write to me via the Verbaccino website.

TMW Podcast - Submit Qs - TW

Cheers!

@KathrinBussmann @Verbaccino

Verbaccino.com

If you enjoyed this blog post and you know others who might enjoy it too, please share it using the social share buttons below.

You can connect with Verbaccino on social media: LinkedInTwitterFacebookPinterestGoogle+ and Instagram.

For valuable tips on how to grow an international audience online, subscribe to The Worldly Marketer newsletter.

Leave a Reply

